National Pooled Trust Directory: Fees and Minimums for Every State

Share:

What a Pooled Trust Is, and Why the Fees Matter

A pooled special needs trust is run by a nonprofit that combines many families’ accounts for investment while keeping a separate sub-account for each beneficiary. For most families it is the affordable alternative to paying an attorney thousands of dollars to draft a standalone trust, and many programs accept small balances that no bank would take. But the fees, minimums, and terms vary enormously between organizations, and almost nobody publishes them side by side. This directory lists 68 nonprofit pooled trust programs across all 50 states and the District of Columbia, with the fees each one publishes and the date that fee information was last updated. Everything here was read off the organization’s own website or fee schedule in August 2026.

Two things to know before you read the tables. First, a pooled trust can hold either first-party funds, meaning money that already belongs to the person with a disability, such as a settlement or an inheritance, or third-party funds, meaning money a parent or grandparent sets aside. Most programs run both, but not all, and the fees often differ. Second, a first-party pooled trust must repay Medicaid when the beneficiary dies, and many nonprofits also retain a share of whatever is left. Those retention terms are in the notes below because they can matter more than the annual fee.

Programs that accept families from any state

If your state has no pooled trust, or the one it has does not fit, these programs take beneficiaries from outside their home state. Check the states-served column carefully, because two of the largest exclude particular states.

Organization States served Trust types Enrollment fee Annual fee Minimum deposit Fees as of
Commonwealth Community Trust

Separate first-party and third-party fee schedules, both revised in 2026.
All states Both $1,250 first-party ($550 under $15,000); $1,000 third-party 0.75% + 0.34% investment + $150/yr trustee $8,000 May 2026
CPT Institute

Their own site excludes Connecticut and New Mexico. Fee pages carry no publication date.
48 states and Puerto Rico (not CT or NM) Both $2,000 ($1,000 through SNA, ASNP or NAELA attorneys) From $50/month + 0.60% Not published undated
FND Trust Services (Family Network on Disabilities)

No minimum balance and no fees until the trust is funded. A June 2026 state veto cut $750,000 from FND’s separate family support program; trust services are fee-funded and continue.
All states Both Not published Not published $0 undated
Vista Points

Publishes no statement of states served. Highest annual rate among organizations that publish one.
Tennessee (wider scope not published) Both $1,000 to $12,000, sliding by trust size 3.00%, $1,000 minimum $8,000 Dec 2024
Midwest Special Needs Trust

Created by Missouri statute in 1989 as the Missouri Family Trust, renamed in 2004.
MO, IL, KS, KY, TN, NE, OK, AR, IA (third-party only) Both $750, sliding scale may apply 1.5% down to 1.0% by balance, + 0.7% investment Not published undated
Arcare, Inc.

Current pages say only that fees vary. The tiered figures come from a fee document still hosted but no longer linked. Confirm by phone.
KS, NE, MO, OK, IA Both $250 to $1,500 by initial deposit 1.25% first $100,000, then 1% None stated 2015 schedule, unlinked
The Arc of Northern Virginia Trust VA, MD, DC Both $1,050 ($775 for a second trust) 1.44% down to 1.09%; $65/yr while unfunded $500 May 2025
Shared Horizons

Termination fee $4,500 unless the account is depleted. On death, Shared Horizons retains 50% for charitable purposes.
DC, MD, VA Both $1,500 ($500 pilot program) 1.75% to 1.8%, or flat $200 to $735 at lower balances $5,000 ($1,000 pilot) Jan 2024
PLAN of MA and RI

The most recently updated fee documents in this survey. First-party charitable retention of 10% to 20% by tenure.
MA, RI Both $600 or $750 first-party; $500 third-party 2% on the first $1M, 0% above; $500 minimum, + 0.75% investment None Jul 2026
Enhanced Life Options Group (ELO)

Does not accept new trusts for anyone age 65 or older. Termination fee 3%. On a self-settled pooled account ELO may retain 45% of remaining assets.
NH, VT Both $750 per 2021 materials; current fee page under construction 1.85% (1.10% ELO + 0.75% advisor) $20,000 Feb 2026
Life Enrichment Trust Nationwide, concentrated in PA, NJ, OH, CO Both Not published Not published No effective minimum undated
ACT for Life Services (Disabled and Alone)

Account closure fee $500.
NY (NJ per directories, unconfirmed) Both $250, waived over $100,000 $750 flat under $100,000, or 1.00% + 0.9% bank $20,000 for expenditures 2022

Before you choose: the terms that cost the most

Flat annual fees are brutal on small accounts. Life Plan Trust in North Carolina charges a flat $2,500 a year on any account under $250,000. On a $25,000 trust that is roughly 10 percent a year. Percentage-based fees at other organizations run from under 1 percent to about 3 percent, so on a small account the difference between two nonprofits can exceed the entire cost of hiring an attorney.

Ask what happens to the money that is left. Shared Horizons retains 50 percent of the remaining balance for charitable purposes on death and charges $4,500 to terminate an account. Babcock Center in South Carolina retains 20 percent, and participants may not exit the trust until the funds are exhausted. Maine Pooled Disability Trust retains 50 percent before the state is reimbursed. Enhanced Life Options may retain 45 percent on a self-settled account.

Age limits are common and are not always obvious. Enhanced Life Options does not accept new trusts for anyone 65 or older. Several first-party programs require enrollment before 65 because of how the federal rules treat later transfers. Ask before you apply.

The other end of the range. Washington’s DD Endowment Trust Fund, created by the state legislature, currently credits back the entire $600 enrollment fee and the annual tax preparation fee as state matching funds. FND Trust Services has no minimum balance and charges nothing until the trust is actually funded. Achieva in Pennsylvania charges nothing to open or close an account. Community Fund Ohio’s annuity product carries no setup or annual maintenance fee.

Pooled trusts by state

Organizations are listed under every state they serve, so a regional nonprofit appears more than once. Where a state has no program of its own, the national programs above accept residents.

Alabama

Organization Trust types Enrollment fee Annual fee Minimum deposit Fees as of
Alabama Family Trust

Maintenance fee waived if the account is $3,000 or less.
Both $750 1.6% + $450/yr maintenance $1,500 Oct 2022

Special needs trust rules in Alabama

Alaska

Organization Trust types Enrollment fee Annual fee Minimum deposit Fees as of
Foundation of The Arc of Anchorage

STATUS UNVERIFIED. The chapter website contains no trust program information. Contact directly before relying on this listing.
Not published Not published Not published Not published undated

Special needs trust rules in Alaska

Arizona

Organization Trust types Enrollment fee Annual fee Minimum deposit Fees as of
PLAN of Arizona Both $250 to $1,500 first-party by funding; $1,500 third-party 1.75% (1.50% above $750,000) $5,000 third-party 2024

Special needs trust rules in Arizona

Arkansas

Organization Trust types Enrollment fee Annual fee Minimum deposit Fees as of
Midwest Special Needs Trust

Created by Missouri statute in 1989 as the Missouri Family Trust, renamed in 2004.
Both $750, sliding scale may apply 1.5% down to 1.0% by balance, + 0.7% investment Not published undated

Special needs trust rules in Arkansas

California

Organization Trust types Enrollment fee Annual fee Minimum deposit Fees as of
PLAN of California (Proxy Parent Foundation)

Open to all disabilities and ages with no asset minimum.
Both Not published Not published None undated
Special Needs Trust Foundation Both $1,000 $100/month under $120,000; 1% above $5,000 undated

Special needs trust rules in California

Colorado

Organization Trust types Enrollment fee Annual fee Minimum deposit Fees as of
Colorado Fund for People with Disabilities

Fees are quoted on request by email.
Both Not published Not published None stated undated
The Arc Pikes Peak Region

Beneficiary must be under 65 and have an intellectual or developmental disability.
First-party (third-party not stated) $250 Not published $1,000 undated
Life Enrichment Trust Both Not published Not published No effective minimum undated

Special needs trust rules in Colorado

Connecticut

Organization Trust types Enrollment fee Annual fee Minimum deposit Fees as of
PLAN of Connecticut

The only pooled trust identified serving Connecticut. Two large national programs, Commonwealth Community Trust and CPT Institute, both exclude Connecticut.
Both $1,050 for one trust, $1,350 for two $75/quarter + $65/hr service + 0.25% investment None Jul 2022

Special needs trust rules in Connecticut

Delaware

Organization Trust types Enrollment fee Annual fee Minimum deposit Fees as of
Delaware CarePlan

Created under the Delaware CarePlan Trust Act. Requires an attorney.
Both $600 + $350 activation 0.80% + 0.70% investment + $150/yr renewal $5,000 Jul 2021

Special needs trust rules in Delaware

District of Columbia

Organization Trust types Enrollment fee Annual fee Minimum deposit Fees as of
The Arc of Northern Virginia Trust Both $1,050 ($775 for a second trust) 1.44% down to 1.09%; $65/yr while unfunded $500 May 2025
Shared Horizons

Termination fee $4,500 unless the account is depleted. On death, Shared Horizons retains 50% for charitable purposes.
Both $1,500 ($500 pilot program) 1.75% to 1.8%, or flat $200 to $735 at lower balances $5,000 ($1,000 pilot) Jan 2024

Special needs trust rules in District of Columbia

Florida

Organization Trust types Enrollment fee Annual fee Minimum deposit Fees as of
The Arc of South Florida Both $950 2.85% None Jan 2019
The Arc Jacksonville Pooled Trust

Highest published annual rate in this survey. Trust type is stated inconsistently between the web page and the joinder agreement.
Third-party stated; documents cite the first-party statute $750 3.15%, paid annually in advance Not published 2020

Special needs trust rules in Florida

Georgia

Organization Trust types Enrollment fee Annual fee Minimum deposit Fees as of
Georgia Community Trust of BDI

Formerly the Georgia Community Trust of AADD. AADD merged into Bobby Dodd Institute in 2018.
Both $900 1.5% with a $600 annual minimum, + 0.7% investment None Sep 2023

Special needs trust rules in Georgia

Hawaii

We did not identify a pooled trust based in this state. Residents can use the national programs listed above, which accept beneficiaries from any state.

Special needs trust rules in Hawaii

Idaho

We did not identify a pooled trust based in this state. Residents can use the national programs listed above, which accept beneficiaries from any state.

Special needs trust rules in Idaho

Illinois

Organization Trust types Enrollment fee Annual fee Minimum deposit Fees as of
Illinois Disability Pooled Trust

Requires the family to retain an attorney.
Both Not published Not published Not published undated
Life’s Plan, Inc.

The published schedule is headed Individual Trust Management Services; its applicability to pooled sub-accounts is unconfirmed. Retains 15% to 25% of the remainder.
Both $750 1.50% tiered down to 0.60%; $2,000 annual minimum $10,000 about 2020
Midwest Special Needs Trust

Created by Missouri statute in 1989 as the Missouri Family Trust, renamed in 2004.
Both $750, sliding scale may apply 1.5% down to 1.0% by balance, + 0.7% investment Not published undated

Special needs trust rules in Illinois

Indiana

Organization Trust types Enrollment fee Annual fee Minimum deposit Fees as of
The Arc of Indiana Master Trust

Unlimited deposits and disbursements at no extra charge.
Both (Trust I third-party, Trust II first-party) $1,000 for Trust I; 10% capped at $1,500 for Trust II 1.5% to $500,000, then 1.0% None 2026
SWIRCA and More Both Not published Not published $10,000 undated

Special needs trust rules in Indiana

Iowa

Organization Trust types Enrollment fee Annual fee Minimum deposit Fees as of
Midwest Special Needs Trust

Created by Missouri statute in 1989 as the Missouri Family Trust, renamed in 2004.
Both $750, sliding scale may apply 1.5% down to 1.0% by balance, + 0.7% investment Not published undated
Arcare, Inc.

Current pages say only that fees vary. The tiered figures come from a fee document still hosted but no longer linked. Confirm by phone.
Both $250 to $1,500 by initial deposit 1.25% first $100,000, then 1% None stated 2015 schedule, unlinked

Special needs trust rules in Iowa

Kansas

Organization Trust types Enrollment fee Annual fee Minimum deposit Fees as of
Midwest Special Needs Trust

Created by Missouri statute in 1989 as the Missouri Family Trust, renamed in 2004.
Both $750, sliding scale may apply 1.5% down to 1.0% by balance, + 0.7% investment Not published undated
Arcare, Inc.

Current pages say only that fees vary. The tiered figures come from a fee document still hosted but no longer linked. Confirm by phone.
Both $250 to $1,500 by initial deposit 1.25% first $100,000, then 1% None stated 2015 schedule, unlinked

Special needs trust rules in Kansas

Kentucky

Organization Trust types Enrollment fee Annual fee Minimum deposit Fees as of
Life Plan of Kentucky Both Not published Not published Not published undated
Midwest Special Needs Trust

Created by Missouri statute in 1989 as the Missouri Family Trust, renamed in 2004.
Both $750, sliding scale may apply 1.5% down to 1.0% by balance, + 0.7% investment Not published undated

Special needs trust rules in Kentucky

Louisiana

Organization Trust types Enrollment fee Annual fee Minimum deposit Fees as of
Louisiana Guardianship Services (LGSI)

Established August 2024 and described as the first pooled trust in Louisiana.
Not specified Not published Not published Not published undated

Special needs trust rules in Louisiana

Maine

Organization Trust types Enrollment fee Annual fee Minimum deposit Fees as of
Maine Pooled Disability Trust

Retains 50% of the remaining sub-account at death before state reimbursement. Annual fee waived under $1,000. The organization posted a transition notice in July 2026.
First-party $900 $360/yr + 0.3% or 1.0% investment $5,000 undated

Special needs trust rules in Maine

Maryland

Organization Trust types Enrollment fee Annual fee Minimum deposit Fees as of
First Maryland Disability Trust

Closing fee is the greater of $250 or 1%.
Both $500 under $7,500; $1,000 above 1.7% first-party, 1.0% third-party, $400 minimum, + 0.37% investment None stated Sep 2023
The Arc of Northern Virginia Trust Both $1,050 ($775 for a second trust) 1.44% down to 1.09%; $65/yr while unfunded $500 May 2025
Shared Horizons

Termination fee $4,500 unless the account is depleted. On death, Shared Horizons retains 50% for charitable purposes.
Both $1,500 ($500 pilot program) 1.75% to 1.8%, or flat $200 to $735 at lower balances $5,000 ($1,000 pilot) Jan 2024

Special needs trust rules in Maryland

Massachusetts

Organization Trust types Enrollment fee Annual fee Minimum deposit Fees as of
The Arc of Bristol County Both $475, or $575 if a fiduciary is involved 2.7% under $500,000; 2.2% above None stated Jan 2021
Guardian Community Trust

No age limit. Retains 5% to 15% of the remainder by tenure.
First-party pooled $0 3.0% down to 1.25% by balance None undated
PLAN of MA and RI

The most recently updated fee documents in this survey. First-party charitable retention of 10% to 20% by tenure.
Both $600 or $750 first-party; $500 third-party 2% on the first $1M, 0% above; $500 minimum, + 0.75% investment None Jul 2026

Special needs trust rules in Massachusetts

Michigan

Organization Trust types Enrollment fee Annual fee Minimum deposit Fees as of
The Arc Michigan Pooled Amenities Trust Both Not published Not published Not published undated
Springhill Pooled Accounts Trust Both $500, charged only once funded 1.75% + 0.75% investment $1,000 undated
Elder Law of Michigan Pooled Trust

This is the nonprofit sponsor. Some directories list a partner law firm instead, which cannot sponsor a pooled trust. Figures come from a script-rendered page; confirm by phone.
Both $500 $90/month Not published undated
Guardian Finance and Advocacy Services

County-level service area, not statewide. Sliding scale available.
Both None for the pooled trust $30/month plus a 1% of assets annual minimum Not published Jan 2026

Special needs trust rules in Michigan

Minnesota

Organization Trust types Enrollment fee Annual fee Minimum deposit Fees as of
LSS Pooled Trusts (Lutheran Social Service of Minnesota) Both (two programs) $1,200 joinder ($800 to $1,000 if future-funded) Not published $8,000 to $10,000 undated

Special needs trust rules in Minnesota

Mississippi

We did not identify a pooled trust based in this state. Residents can use the national programs listed above, which accept beneficiaries from any state.

Special needs trust rules in Mississippi

Missouri

Organization Trust types Enrollment fee Annual fee Minimum deposit Fees as of
Midwest Special Needs Trust

Created by Missouri statute in 1989 as the Missouri Family Trust, renamed in 2004.
Both $750, sliding scale may apply 1.5% down to 1.0% by balance, + 0.7% investment Not published undated
Arcare, Inc.

Current pages say only that fees vary. The tiered figures come from a fee document still hosted but no longer linked. Confirm by phone.
Both $250 to $1,500 by initial deposit 1.25% first $100,000, then 1% None stated 2015 schedule, unlinked

Special needs trust rules in Missouri

Montana

Organization Trust types Enrollment fee Annual fee Minimum deposit Fees as of
Montana Families Trust (RDI Financial Wellness)

Requires Montana residency. A $350 figure circulating in search results does not appear anywhere on the live site.
Both Not published Not published Not published undated

Special needs trust rules in Montana

Nebraska

Organization Trust types Enrollment fee Annual fee Minimum deposit Fees as of
Midwest Special Needs Trust

Created by Missouri statute in 1989 as the Missouri Family Trust, renamed in 2004.
Both $750, sliding scale may apply 1.5% down to 1.0% by balance, + 0.7% investment Not published undated
Arcare, Inc.

Current pages say only that fees vary. The tiered figures come from a fee document still hosted but no longer linked. Confirm by phone.
Both $250 to $1,500 by initial deposit 1.25% first $100,000, then 1% None stated 2015 schedule, unlinked

Special needs trust rules in Nebraska

Nevada

We did not identify a pooled trust based in this state. Residents can use the national programs listed above, which accept beneficiaries from any state.

Special needs trust rules in Nevada

New Hampshire

Organization Trust types Enrollment fee Annual fee Minimum deposit Fees as of
Enhanced Life Options Group (ELO)

Does not accept new trusts for anyone age 65 or older. Termination fee 3%. On a self-settled pooled account ELO may retain 45% of remaining assets.
Both $750 per 2021 materials; current fee page under construction 1.85% (1.10% ELO + 0.75% advisor) $20,000 Feb 2026

Special needs trust rules in New Hampshire

New Jersey

Organization Trust types Enrollment fee Annual fee Minimum deposit Fees as of
PLAN of New Jersey

The published schedule states it is current through December 2021 and is no longer linked from their trust page. Confirm before relying on it.
Both $700 3.5%/yr at or below $15,000; $1,800/yr above $25,000 Dec 2021
SCARC Guardianship Services

A Community Trust Agency under New Jersey’s 1985 Act.
Pooled and individual Not published Not published None undated
Life Enrichment Trust Both Not published Not published No effective minimum undated
ACT for Life Services (Disabled and Alone)

Account closure fee $500.
Both $250, waived over $100,000 $750 flat under $100,000, or 1.00% + 0.9% bank $20,000 for expenditures 2022

Special needs trust rules in New Jersey

New Mexico

Organization Trust types Enrollment fee Annual fee Minimum deposit Fees as of
The Arc of New Mexico Master Trust I and II

Fee pages were removed in a site rebuild. These figures come from a 2023 archive. Confirm with the trust department.
Both (I first-party, II third-party) $250 for I, $600 for II, last published 2023 4%, last published 2023 None 2023, archived

Special needs trust rules in New Mexico

New York

Organization Trust types Enrollment fee Annual fee Minimum deposit Fees as of
NYSARC Trust Services

The largest pooled trust program in New York.
Both $200 for Community Trust I and II; $500 for III; $750 third-party 0.900% + 0.68% fiduciary; third-party 1.5% $300 first-party; $10,000 third-party Jun 2026
Center for Disability Rights

Figures via the NY Health Access roster.
Pooled $200 plus $20 monthly Contact organization Not published Apr 2026
ACT for Life Services (Disabled and Alone)

Account closure fee $500.
Both $250, waived over $100,000 $750 flat under $100,000, or 1.00% + 0.9% bank $20,000 for expenditures 2022

Special needs trust rules in New York

North Carolina

Organization Trust types Enrollment fee Annual fee Minimum deposit Fees as of
Life Plan Trust

The flat fee works out to roughly 10% per year on a $25,000 account. The site still shows a pre-2022 ABLE contribution limit.
Both $950 Flat $2,500/yr under $250,000; $5,000/yr to $500,000; 1.25% and lower above Not published about 2021
Guidance Carolina

Formerly Corporation of Guardianship, renamed in 2024. Publishes separate active and inactive fee schedules.
Both See published 2026 fee schedules See published 2026 fee schedules Not published 2026

Special needs trust rules in North Carolina

North Dakota

Organization Trust types Enrollment fee Annual fee Minimum deposit Fees as of
LSS Pooled Trusts (Lutheran Social Service of Minnesota) Both (two programs) $1,200 joinder ($800 to $1,000 if future-funded) Not published $8,000 to $10,000 undated
GAPS North Dakota Pooled Trust Both Charged, amount not published Charged, amount not published Not published undated

Special needs trust rules in North Dakota

Ohio

Organization Trust types Enrollment fee Annual fee Minimum deposit Fees as of
Community Fund Ohio

No tax preparation, investment management, or distribution fees.
Both $1,000, or $750 at lower balances $250 + 0.25% above $50,000, + 0.89% trustee None Mar 2026
The Disability Foundation (OCPAT)

The OCPAT annuity product carries no setup fee and no annual maintenance fee.
Both $0 for OCPAT; $1,000 for the flexible spending trusts $0 for OCPAT; $250 + 0.25% + 0.60% otherwise Not published Jul 2024
Life Enrichment Trust Both Not published Not published No effective minimum undated

Special needs trust rules in Ohio

Oklahoma

Organization Trust types Enrollment fee Annual fee Minimum deposit Fees as of
Midwest Special Needs Trust

Created by Missouri statute in 1989 as the Missouri Family Trust, renamed in 2004.
Both $750, sliding scale may apply 1.5% down to 1.0% by balance, + 0.7% investment Not published undated
Arcare, Inc.

Current pages say only that fees vary. The tiered figures come from a fee document still hosted but no longer linked. Confirm by phone.
Both $250 to $1,500 by initial deposit 1.25% first $100,000, then 1% None stated 2015 schedule, unlinked

Special needs trust rules in Oklahoma

Oregon

Organization Trust types Enrollment fee Annual fee Minimum deposit Fees as of
Oregon Special Needs Trust

No transaction, disbursement, or communication fees.
Both $750, or $375 for a second account 1% + an annual renewal of $20 to $1,000 by balance, + bank tier None 2025

Special needs trust rules in Oregon

Pennsylvania

Organization Trust types Enrollment fee Annual fee Minimum deposit Fees as of
Achieva Family Trust

No start-up fee and no closing fee. The ongoing annual fee is not published.
Both $0 Not published $500 2020
Ardent Community Trust of Pennsylvania

Formerly ARC Community Trust of PA. Closing fee $325.
Both $450 2.75% on the first $50,000 down to 1.25% above $1M; $400 annual minimum Not published 2024-2025
PLAN of Pennsylvania

Termination fee 1%, minimum $1,000.
Pooled and stand-alone $750 + $350 account opening 2.5% down to 0.9% by bracket; $125 per quarter minimum Not published Dec 2024
Life Enrichment Trust Both Not published Not published No effective minimum undated

Special needs trust rules in Pennsylvania

Rhode Island

Organization Trust types Enrollment fee Annual fee Minimum deposit Fees as of
The Arc of Bristol County Both $475, or $575 if a fiduciary is involved 2.7% under $500,000; 2.2% above None stated Jan 2021
RI Pooled Trust (CPNRI)

Does not require Rhode Island residency.
Both $200 or 1% of the initial contribution, up to $1,000 1% $1,000 cash undated
PLAN of MA and RI

The most recently updated fee documents in this survey. First-party charitable retention of 10% to 20% by tenure.
Both $600 or $750 first-party; $500 third-party 2% on the first $1M, 0% above; $500 minimum, + 0.75% investment None Jul 2026

Special needs trust rules in Rhode Island

South Carolina

Organization Trust types Enrollment fee Annual fee Minimum deposit Fees as of
Babcock Center Foundation

Retains 20% of funds remaining at death. Participants may not exit the trust until funds are exhausted, and funeral costs cannot be paid after death.
First-party $1,000 2% trustee + 0.25% foundation $2,000 2020
DisABILITIES Foundation

A separate fee schedule may apply to people not receiving services from the Disabilities Board of Charleston County.
First-party $100 $50/yr + 1.00% Not published 2018

Special needs trust rules in South Carolina

South Dakota

We did not identify a pooled trust based in this state. Residents can use the national programs listed above, which accept beneficiaries from any state.

Special needs trust rules in South Dakota

Tennessee

Organization Trust types Enrollment fee Annual fee Minimum deposit Fees as of
Athens Pooled Special Needs Trust First-party (third-party not stated) Not published Not published Not published undated
Midwest Special Needs Trust

Created by Missouri statute in 1989 as the Missouri Family Trust, renamed in 2004.
Both $750, sliding scale may apply 1.5% down to 1.0% by balance, + 0.7% investment Not published undated

Special needs trust rules in Tennessee

Texas

Organization Trust types Enrollment fee Annual fee Minimum deposit Fees as of
The Arc of Texas Master Pooled Trust

Pre-approved by the Social Security Administration and Texas HHS.
Both $600 1.75% down to 1%; $300/yr minimum, $250 if deferred Not published Jul 2019

Special needs trust rules in Texas

Utah

Organization Trust types Enrollment fee Annual fee Minimum deposit Fees as of
TURN Community Services Utah Pooled Trust

TURN publishes no fees of its own. These figures come from the Utah Parent Center and are undated. TURN’s page now points readers toward ABLE accounts.
Both $250 plus 2% of the initial contribution, per a secondary source 1%, per a secondary source $1,500, per a secondary source undated
Utah SNAP Fund

Check writing $20 per check. Case management $90 per hour.
Pooled income trust 10% of the initial deposit, minimum $350 and maximum $2,000 $300 renewal + $200 financial report None undated

Special needs trust rules in Utah

Vermont

Organization Trust types Enrollment fee Annual fee Minimum deposit Fees as of
Enhanced Life Options Group (ELO)

Does not accept new trusts for anyone age 65 or older. Termination fee 3%. On a self-settled pooled account ELO may retain 45% of remaining assets.
Both $750 per 2021 materials; current fee page under construction 1.85% (1.10% ELO + 0.75% advisor) $20,000 Feb 2026

Special needs trust rules in Vermont

Virginia

Organization Trust types Enrollment fee Annual fee Minimum deposit Fees as of
The Arc of Northern Virginia Trust Both $1,050 ($775 for a second trust) 1.44% down to 1.09%; $65/yr while unfunded $500 May 2025
Shared Horizons

Termination fee $4,500 unless the account is depleted. On death, Shared Horizons retains 50% for charitable purposes.
Both $1,500 ($500 pilot program) 1.75% to 1.8%, or flat $200 to $735 at lower balances $5,000 ($1,000 pilot) Jan 2024

Special needs trust rules in Virginia

Washington

Organization Trust types Enrollment fee Annual fee Minimum deposit Fees as of
DD Endowment Trust Fund

Created by the Washington Legislature in 1999. Requires Washington residency, a state developmental disability determination, and enrollment before age 65. State incentives are subject to change.
Both $600, currently credited back in full by the state Greater of $75 or 1%, capped at $750; $75 currently credited back None undated
PACT (Pooled Alliance Community Trusts)

Sponsor renamed from Brain Injury Alliance of Washington to Brain Northwest. Applicants over 65 need an attorney recommendation.
Both, plus a basic support trust $800 1.75% Not published Aug 2021
Lifetime Advocacy Plus

The first first-party pooled trust in Washington, opened in 2002. No age-65 barrier.
Both Not published Billed hourly; the rate is not published None undated

Special needs trust rules in Washington

West Virginia

Organization Trust types Enrollment fee Annual fee Minimum deposit Fees as of
WV PACE Trust Fund

Termination fee $500, waived if the account is depleted.
Both $1,000 2%, being 1% management and 1% investment Not published undated

Special needs trust rules in West Virginia

Wisconsin

Organization Trust types Enrollment fee Annual fee Minimum deposit Fees as of
WisPACT

Requires an attorney. A grant program offsets creation fees.
Both $250, or $150 plus $100 at funding; subsidy program available Tiered from $0 under $10,000 up to $804 + 0.38%, plus 0.15% and up to 0.85% $750 Jan 2023
Life Navigators

Requires an attorney. A Beneficiary Legal Fund covers up to $2,000 in attorney fees for trusts under $100,000.
Both, including one trust for age 65 and over Not published Not published Not published undated

Special needs trust rules in Wisconsin

Wyoming

Organization Trust types Enrollment fee Annual fee Minimum deposit Fees as of
Wyoming Guardianship Corporation

Describes itself as Wyoming’s only pooled trust administrator. No attorney required.
Both Not published Not published Not published undated

Special needs trust rules in Wyoming

About this directory

How it was compiled. Every organization was checked in August 2026 against its own website and, where one exists, its own published fee schedule. Fees taken from any other source are labeled as such in the notes. Where an organization does not publish a figure, this directory says “not published” rather than guessing or repeating a number from a third-party listing.

Read the “fees as of” column. 37 of the 68 programs date their fee information; the rest publish figures with no date at all. The dated ones range from schedules effective in 2026 to documents last revised in 2019. Fees change and most schedules say so explicitly. Call the organization before you rely on any number here.

What is not here. Programs that could not be verified as operating were left out rather than listed on faith. During this survey we found several organizations still listed in other directories that have closed, merged, or never ran a pooled trust at all, including one entry whose published link pointed to an unrelated company in a different state. If you find an error or know of a program we missed, please tell us and we will check it and update the page.

Not legal advice. Choosing between a pooled trust and a standalone trust depends on the amount involved, your state’s Medicaid rules, and your family’s situation. Several of these programs require you to work with an attorney, and that requirement is noted where it applies. See our guide to special needs trusts for how pooled trusts compare with the alternatives.

New York families: New York has more pooled trusts than any other state, more than twenty. The two largest are listed above; for the full roster, the NY Health Access list of pooled SNTs is maintained and current.


Found this helpful? Share it: